Fire-Works or Not?

Hey ho HAPPY NEW YEAR, here’s 2017 we go!

(I think that was a good rhyming attempt, no?)

We’re 14 days into the new year, that’s TWO WHOLE WEEKS of 2017. Is there anything new? Or like me, you’re on the same new year’s resolutions list where the only thing new with it is that… IT GOT LONGER?

After years of celebrating my new year’s with friends, I spent it counting down with my family this time round! I don’t really recall the last time my parents bothered about countdowns, but I suppose as there was conveniently a countdown near my Brother’s pad, my mum thought it was a great time and opportunity to have the family all together which doesn’t come by easy with me studying abroad for the past few years.

10 minutes before we were in the present year, my bro, nephew, dad, mum and I headed to the apartment’s pool deck level to catch the fireworks. It was my nephew’s first time watching fireworks, so, I was excited for him! I sure did not expect him to scream in terror of it. He screamed, cried, and turned away from the 8 minutes’ spectacle as soon as it begun. My mum deduced that the loud noise was what really frightened him as he was fine with re-watching the recording on my brother’s phone after. Still, it got me thinking… why do we associate fireworks with celebrations, when it’s loud bangs and explosive sparks are actually alarming?

why do we associate fireworks with celebrations, when it’s loud bangs and explosive sparks are actually alarming?

If my memory serves me right, this association originated from China where Fireworks were used to ward off evil spirits with the noise and lights. Hence, as it scared away the unwanted and bring joy to the people, it was then doubled for celebrations. So if this explosive scares evil spirits, I can see why my nephew (and most small children) are frightened by it, especially with their hearing and sight being much more sensitive at that young age.

Logical reasoning aside, why are we thrilled and entertained by something that burns and could quite literally explode in our faces? And why is it a display we all yearn especially when ushering a new year? Sure, it’s a magical and amazing performance when done with great coordination and choreography – the entertainment factor. Is it that filling the dark night with colours and echoing bangs signifies hope? Hopeful for a better year? What do you feel/think about when watching Fireworks on New Year’s? It sure didn’t feel that way for me this year… perhaps it’s to do to with where I’m currently at with my life. As I watched each firework bloom then trail and fall away into the darkness, I couldn’t help feel like that’s me… who has peaked and is now fading away into the dark with the smoke.  

    

That was my first 8 minutes of 2017. I can only hope that these dark thoughts won’t be dominant in my head for the rest of the year. There’s no light without darkness, no future without past, no noise without silence, no happiness without grief – however temporary or fleeting, let’s make Fireworks all day all year! I just need to focus on propelling outwards the happy and positive, pushing back the smoke and darkness into oblivion.

There’s no light without darkness, no future without past, no noise without silence, no happiness without grief……

How was your New Year’s countdown? Was there Fireworks (literally & figuratively)? Wishing you stay a hopeful and positive, and create many magical fireworks-moments throughout your year! Have an exciting and happy 2017 all! I’ll try my best to share my efforts in emitting the positive and muting the negative voices, so I do hope you check back soon!

“You just gotta
Ignite the light
And let it shine”

YEAH YEAH, Cheesy and expected song choice, don’t explode at me! You got to agree, it’s exactly the lightness I needed to end this dark-ish post.., refuting every dark thought here. and we could all (well, definitely me) could use a burst of positivity and empowerment =) Let that bright positive vibes shine!

Let’s create fireworks,
Sum.

Leave a Reply

