When one door closes, it might not be locked.

I was rejected twice for a position with my previous placement employment at Cambridge. I was really keen on staying on in UK for good money that is more than sufficient for full financial independence (I kid you not, I was financially independent, YES, FULLY, during my entire placement year) and the fact that my dear friend, Bdog, is back there doing a PhD was icing on the cake.

From the time before I completed my placement till today, one of them has been pretty insistent that I pursue a PhD with them post Bachelors. However, I gave it zero thought because it would mean 3 more years of digging myself deeper into this engineering hole which I did not see as my ultimate end game in life. It’s more commitment for something I am not fully invested in. On top of that, I am not about to be that prick who quits halfway through because I just simply couldn’t fully commit to it after all the effort to pulling in PhD funding for me, especially when I have grown fond of these amazing people.

Afraid that the ship back to UK will never come to me, I looked into alternative options (back up plans if you must) – Masters. I felt that Design Engineering might be something I have more interest in since I did enjoy designing that Folding Electric Bike for my final year group project… (perhaps I am more of a visual person), but most of the courses I wanted to do were for 2 years. Bdog had a point… I could just do a PhD and be a DOCTOR by spending less money too. HAH.

He heard from Bdog about this, and reiterate that it will be to my best interest to go back to UK on the terms of pursuing a PhD, and very soon before Brexit takes effect. He also mentioned that he would be fine if I really can’t cope or don’t think it is for me, and drop out after a year, at least earning a Masters of Philosophy. He would then be able to pull strings to get me a job there, as it is hard to justify hiring a foreign Bachelors holder while there are other more qualified candidates, even local candidates. He sounded really keen on getting me back there as an employee, as he even admitted that there might be better PhD options for me elsewhere.

I suppose the lesson here is ALWAYS BE ON YOUR A-GAME, WORK HARD at what you’re doing. Even if you’re not confident at what you do, be proactive and give it your all. People will notice, more importantly, the right people. Build a good reputation for yourself, then people will be more willing to help you out when you need it out of love and respect for who you’ve set yourself to be. It was really rewarding and heart warming to find out that staff there still remember me, holding me in high regard, even putting in a good word for me to the other interviewer who didn’t know me as he joined the company later.  I was chuffed to bits, having that recognition by many, knowing I actually did pretty good and left my good name and work there as unconfident as I was during my year there. These are the connections and lasting impressions you want to be making. Share with me your rewarding experiences in the comments down below if you agree! And share this (not-so) secret tip with your career focused mates!

“You gotta be bad, you gotta be bold, you gotta be wiser
You gotta be hard, you gotta be tough, you gotta be stronger
You gotta be cool, you gotta be calm, you gotta stay together
All I know, all I know, love will save the day

The seemingly no strings attached offer back to this brilliant Kingdom is mighty tempting. Is this a sign? Is this my lifebuoy back?

Checking the ship,
Sum.

Leave a Reply

